Just got my first open source transmitter (2nd hand X20S) Where would you start?

Andy C

I am new to open source, having used Spektrum for many years but thought I would give it a try. Have got myself a second hand X20S from a trusted source and about to order a couple of basic frsky 4 or 6 ch receivers to get started with.   Only looking to use the most basic functions on some simple foam and IC models. 

Any recommendations on how to approach this journey please?

• Like 1

Don't be confused by the fact this is a Frsky TX, and they were the first major commercial players to leverage open source firmwares. The X20 uses ETHOS, which (whilst taking inspiration from the open source firmwares) is actually closed source - it's built by Frsky for Frsky TXs only, and the source code is unavailable. 

Putting that aside, just go to Mike Shellim's Ethos pages and start there - as always his resources are well written and will be a great primer. He also has several templates for use for different model types, though given his interests they are silent flight biased. For anything you can't find there, have a search of the the RC Groups X20 and ETHOS for dummies threads.

Edited by MattyB
  • Like 1

+1 for 'Mr D' and suggest ensuring all components i.e. Tx and compatible Rx are updated to the latest software.

This is quite straightforward with the ETHOS Suite which tells you if an update is available, just click 'update' and it does everything for you.

Superb set, (I have RadioMaster TX16S MkII and the X20S is much less faff if all you want is to fly with a reliable piece of kit).

If you love programming though you can still devise all manner of permutations etc. in the numerous menus.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Andy C said:

Thanks guys. 

with it being second hand is there any benefit in doing some sort of factory reset?

Other than wiping any pre-existing model memories, I'm not sure whether there would be any value in doing that. I'm not even sure it is possible tbh.