Hello!

Trusty

Hi everyone,
I'm new to model flying, never flown anything! I've been reading RCME for a couple of months and been on loads of web sites.
I've resisted temptation to purchase anything!........
I've contacted 4 clubs but not heard back from anyone, perhaps that's due to the holidays etc..

can anyone advise me on what to buy first? and what bits I would need to start out? I can't wait!! There's so much stuff out there it's difficult to know what i would need!.....

Thanks in anticipation,

Trusty.

Advert

Hi Trusty,

and welcome to this absolutely fantastic hobby. I'm sure one of the moderators will give you a proper introduction, but in the meantime, here are a few pointers

Do Do join a club. Nearly everyone is very friendly and helpful. Nothing beats looking at real models, and talking to real modellers. You never know, someone might even give you a wee try with their model
Also, you can check out the radio systems and trainer models that they are using, and so be able to buy, exchange bits etc.

Also, a club can fix you up with insurance, which is essential, and find someone to teach you to fly. You can try to teach yourself, but it is difficult to fly a radio controlled plane, and you will certainly break something

To answer your last question, You will need
1  a trainer aircraft, either almost ready to fly; or you build it yourself. about 5 foot span
2  a radio system, with a transmitter, a receiver, several (say 4) servo motors, and batteries to power the system
3  a powerplant, either electric, or internal combustion
4  various bits and pieces such as charger, some tools, maybe fuel
5  a space to work, it can be a kitchen table, or a real workshop

So Trusty, go for it, and if and when you have specific questions, ask them here, and you will certainly get loads of help

ernie