Crashed & Survived......

At the patch on Saturday I was flying my Wot 5 (a 25% enlarged Wot 4...63" span, 8.5lbs 91 up front). This was only its third flight so I'm still learning the model.....

A few simple aerobatics & general stooging around & then recovering from a gentle dive the model passes overhead at about 80 feet heading into wind & away towards the boundary when I get that awful feeling that I'm not in control anymore (don't you just hate that feeling...). The model refuses to respond to the elevator & continues downwards....rolls quickly to the right & then to the left & continues onwards finally hitting the ground just out of sight with a thwack...

I go to retrieve the model expecting it to be smashed to bits & lo & behold its still in one piece. As I approach the model I see the elevator is flexed down by about 20 degrees "servo failure" I think. Then as I get nearer I see no evidence of a pushrod between the elevator & the servo (the model has a rear mounted elevator servo)...."The flippin' pushrod has fallen off!!" I think

I get to the model & pull the nose out of the ground & apart from a broken prop it all looks OK....(I might be a heavy builder but I build 'em tough !!!). Underneath the model I find the elevator pushrod....still intact & unbent.

I gather the model & take it back to the pits....apart from the broken prop & the plastic U/C bolts breaking & a small crease behind the nose ring its absolutely fine....I can't believe it ...I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

I take the wing off & there is a bit of a jumble inside.....the battery has come loose as has the throttle servo & Rx....the plate supporting the back of the fuel tank has broken but I put all these down to the impact of the "crash". I check the radio & everything works just fine...all servos respond perfectly.

So what caused the crash.....I don't know is the short answer & this is very worrying....