Help and Advice For a Complete Beginner To RC Glider Building and Flying

Greg

Hello,

I am 74 years old and have just recently decided to take up the hobby of building and flying an RC glider.

I have experience in building wooden static and RC model boats but have never attempted a glider or aeroplane. I would like some advice on what kit I should purchase but I have to take into account that although able I am 74 and have some Arthritis in both my hands. Building the kit will not be a problem but I will need a glider that is powered and easy to launch from a flat area and is reasonably slow flying as my reactions to control are not as good as they used to be. I have seen the following glider kits online that come with a motor. Would either of them be a good place to start?

https://www.elitemodelsonline.co.uk/Aircraft/By-Manufacturers/DW-Hobby/118572-/DW-Hobby-Sunbird-Balsa-16M-Powered-Glider-Kit-INC-1100KV-Motor-20A-ESC-amp-Prop

https://www.elitemodelsonline.co.uk/Aircraft/By-Manufacturers/DW-Hobby/118547-/DW-Hobby-Griffen-Balsa-15M-Powered-Glider-Kit-INC-1100KV-Motor-20A-ESC-amp-Prop

If anyone has any other suggestions on what kit would be better for me I would be very grateful to hear from you.

Greg

• Like 1

If you want to try to go it alone, something like a

T2M FUN2FLY GLIDER 600 - T2M-T4518

will do. Everything comes in the box, it’s light enough that with some care you won’t injure others. It has electronic stabilisation systems. It’s about £120.
It might last long enough to get you to progress a little. 
The kits you suggest can carry a lot of energy. Something lighter reduces accident risk.

Edited by Don Fry
  • Thanks 1

Building your own model from a kit or plan is REAL aeromodelling and something to be encouraged.   Help and advice may be needed and we provide that on the forum.

Bigger models are easier to see and eyesight may be a factor as one gets older.

Edited by kc