Hello from Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger

Just joined the forum 😃 although I’ve been flying RC since 1980. I have many happy childhood memories flying with my dad at the Weardale Model Gliding Association in County Durham, before I took a break to pursue my career, competitive sport and have a family.
Just retired, I now fly mostly scale gliders off the slope next to our home in the North Yorkshire Moors, with a little sneaky electric stuff thrown in there too. My real passion is designing and building, which I’m excited to get back into. 
Best wishes and thank you for having me. ☺️

• Like 5

I was only reminiscing yesterday, that back in the day™, at least in our cub (SSA) almost all models were own-designs.

There were a few plan builds, but it was unusual to see a kit build, and of course no artfs, foamies or composites. 

Maybe with no net, no PDFs, no computer to print PDFs, no outerzone and the cost of kits vs sheet balsa....

All very 'aeromodelling' oriented rather than 'R/C model flying'.   I dont really know what my point is 🙂 but Simons post coincided with my ponderings 🙂

Edited by Phil Green

2 hours ago, Simon Chaddock said:

Jolly Roger

Now designing your own does make things a bit harder/more exciting! 😉

100%!  My wife says I’m never happier than when I’m making with my hands what I thought up in my head. 

Funnily enough I was just admiring your Depron Hunter in another thread.  Wow! Inspirational stuff 😇

1 hour ago, Phil Green said:

I was only reminiscing yesterday, that back in the day™, at least in our cub (SSA) almost all models were own-designs.

There were a few plan builds, but it was unusual to see a kit build, and of course no artfs, foamies or composites. 

Maybe with no net, no PDFs, no computer to print PDFs, no outerzone and the cost of kits vs sheet balsa....

All very 'aeromodelling' oriented rather than 'R/C model flying'.   I dont really know what my point is 🙂 but Simons post coincided with my ponderings 🙂