Airline travel with Li-Po's

Can any one give me some guidance on taking Li Po batteries on board aircraft. I am thinking of taking my T Rex 500 on my annual pilgrimage to Corfu this year. The reason I ask is that last year a fellow visitor had his batteries confiscated at Bristol Airport, despite showing the security people the latest CAA guidlines, which suggested it was safe to do so provided that the packaging conformed to their criteria.

I suppose I could always send them ahead via surface post, but any suggestions would be appreciated.

Advert

Hi John,

Welcome to the forum! As you can see, I've started a new thread on this subject - should attract a greater response.

I have no experience myself but I've read elsewhere that airline procedure can be variable, although it seems that travelling with Li-Po packs in a cabin bag satisfies most. Packing them in your hold baggage is a no-no.

Perhaps a call to your intended carrier - requesting some written confirmation to show at check-in - might be advisable?

Pete

Welcome to the forum John. I too would be interested to hear about this for when I venture abroad with my models.

A bit off subject, but to do with models shipping via air lines wink 2 I know Richard Crapp and Dave Toyer had their Top Gun Models turned away at check in, despite getting clearance for the oversized cargo to go on board before they flew. To their credit they still went, and what's more, purchased a second hand model from a shop in Florida and flew anyway!

Cheers

Danny

I would definitely contact the carrier. We have to transport stuff to meetings overseas for work occassionally - stuff people would not normally carry with them! We have always contacted the carrier - ref the CAA regulation in your email to them, in a friendly and helpful way of course wink 2 " I notice...blah blah,...and i wonder if you could confirm...blah blah" - and its fine 9 times out of 10.

BEB