Mercury kit, Aeronca Sedan

I have a Mercury Kits Lumscombe Sedan, which I intend building as a RC model.

The kit is for FF, with some guidance for RC conversion, although clearly for very early equipment as the rudder is diminutive and for elevator use only.

I am sure that many of these kits will have been operated as RC models. Perhaps more usefully many will have been in more recent times been converted to modern equipment, such as ailerons.

The kit also suggests a 1.5 cc diesel and not to overpower using something like a 2.5 cc. Again some pointers as to what size engines have been used and the performance of the model.

So, guidance and feed back wanted!

Advert

Hi Erflog . I havent built that particular model but have converted many vintage scale types for radio control. As you have said they all seemed to have very small rudders used as trimming tabs . Double the size of the rudder if possible or as big as you think you can reasonable build it . A larger rudder with smaller movement is far more efficient and smoother to use. the elevator need not be too big as its not an aerobatic job.

Another thing I always do is replace any balsa wing spars with spruce . Dont go over board on size though If it has a 1/4 inch spar top and bottom I would laminate some 1/8th by 1/4 balsa and 1/8 by 1/4 spruce t make a strong but light spar.. Smaller sars I just replace with same sized spruce.

as it was designed for F/F the wing incidence may be too high so check before building .

Do you want to use a period diesel ? They are fun if a bit smelly but that's the charm .What span it the Luscombe I currently have three converted free flight jobs in the garage. A Frog 45 and a Taylor craft . Both fly very well on a Frog 150 diesel running at about 1/2 to 3/4 power . My twice size ladybird flys superbly with a Enya 60 FS at a fast idle .i would go for the 1.5cc A Frog or a DC saber would probably suit or even a AM 15 from the same stable .

Good luck and lats have some pics .