Ideal trainer - need help choosing plane

Redstorm

With the exception of a small 2 channel foam toy that weiged about as muh as a teabag, I am new to the hobby.

I am looking for a first trainer but it must be 4 channel. I want to learn to fly properly on something that will resemble my next plane.

i also want something quite big (min 48 inch span) so it can fly in the wind.

Was keen on a plane called the flyzone switch (google it) as its both a high wing trainer and a low wing sport. I like the quirkiness and versatility of it but also thought it would be a good investment as it would give me something to progress onto. but sadly not available in the UK. i could import it but if i crashed it then spares would be an issue.

So as much asI like it I am no longer convinced its the right choice. I have seen some scale cessna 182's with circa 1400mm span which i really really like but others (including a top pilot at a local club i visited who flies one himself) have said its not a trainer or beginners plane. So maybe that will be my second plane.

Advert

sorry about that. split into two posts by mistake.

So I am wanting a plane but not sure what to buy. some guys at the local club suggested a seagull e pioneer as its balsa / ply so will withstand the wind better. But i thought foamies were better to learn on.

I was also recommended the WOT4 foam e as a good plane.

Comments and ideas gratefully received

I would recommend the Seagull Swift,sports Trainer.You have a choice of i/c or electric,or either trike or tail dragger under carriage.When you receive it a lot is already done for you.A word of caution though.You need to strengthen the front wing mount so that when you progress to aerobatics it can take the strain.Ive written a thread on the model and fly it regu7larly.The other model that is excellant is the Multiplex Fun Cub and there is a thread on this model also,electric only. Good ;uck with your choice.