bottled it on the build

Darlo0161

Hi All

I wanted to take part in the mass build with the Tinker but I've realised that Its way beyond my skill level and the lack of proper wood pack has now put me off.

I'm a beginner with a foamie so I want to build a model over the 1kg limit for my "A" (if I get there).

I like the look of the Jazz but is that really suitable for a beginner flyer ? and will the weight once ive added a motor and battery put me at 1kg ?

If not I think i may just find a pack for a trainer and build away from the mass build.

Any help, advise gratefully recieved.

Advert

Have you considered the Tyro, Mini-Tyro or Tyro Major options Darlo? These are high wing monoplane trainers which are easy to build and one of the models chosen for Greenacres 2014. Plan Packs are available from DB Sport and Scale for the two larger models. The Tinker is only a biplane version of the Tyro.

If you are a member of a club I feel sure that there will be experienced builders in your club who will be willing to help you.

If you are more specific about what process is beyond your skill level then perhaps someone here will give some advice.
Usual things considered difficult are transferring shapes onto wood, lack of tools, cutting ply formers or bending piano wire. If its one of these then we can offer advice.

Consider the Tyro Major plan & pre cut ribs, or the DB Mascot kit. The Mini Tyro would be less than 1 kilo and anyway more difficult to use for A certificate.
If you want something designed for electric then the SLEC Electric FunFly might suit although it's not a trainer.

Building may appear a Black art to the new comer, but really it isn't, its all about have the right tools, techniques and practice.

If you start with something simple and work your way up the ladder on each model you build, it won't be long before you are writing your own build blogs showing us how its done!