Antivirus Software

Nev

OK I can do computers but I’m not an expert, they irritate me too much.

Having recently purchased a new one for home, the old one went to the wall during a Windows update, it came with two free versions of antivirus software AVG and Malwarebytes. The only thing I know about either of those is the malware one crashed my PC at work following an update and hade to be uninstalled. I also have a subscription to McAfee from my old PC, which I have now also loaded onto the new one.

So the question is do I leave them all on, or are they just going to get in each other’s way. I’m thinking I should probably uninstall the free versions. But before I do anything silly is there anything I should watch out for.

Thanks Nev.

Advert

It is alwas best to have one anti virus software running on a pc so uninstall all of what you don't need. I use Windows Defender which is built into Windows 10( you just need to activate it) and its free never any issues i have noticed and then I run the free version of malwarebytes from time to time, also to keep things clean i have ccleaner to clean things up from time to time, with the last two if you pay then it ithey run automaticly

Posted by flight1 on 14/01/2018 21:35:12:

It is alwas best to have one anti virus software running on a pc so uninstall all of what you don't need. I use Windows Defender which is built into Windows 10( you just need to activate it) and its free never any issues i have noticed and then I run the free version of malwarebytes from time to time, also to keep things clean i have ccleaner to clean things up from time to time, with the last two if you pay then it ithey run automaticly

I do the same as you, flight1. I use the free MS Defender with Win 10, and run a free Malwarebytes scan to catch PUPs.

I also use Defender plus Malwarebytes (Full version when you first download for week or so). Never any problems.