Design & Build Sport Twin

Nigel R

Hello all

This year's main project is an own design sport twin.

I've never built or flown a twin before. What could possibly go wrong!?

They do seem to offer an interesting sort of airplane for a fairly small increase in building time over a single engine. And they're quite rare. I've never even seen one at the local patch (at least, a proper one, made of wood with actual engines not the park fly foam electrickery stuff). I've wanted an IC twin for a while now (probably since finding RC planes at age 10) and with the previous project now finally leaving the ground under its own steam, it's time to start getting busy with this one.

I'm not planning on a blow by blow log for this build - probably more of a monthly roundup approach, although I will write a fair bit now about design choices, any later on any interesting bits as and when I think of them and / or stumble into the odd mantrap.

Engines and stuff

Motive power for this was decided on quite early - some time ago I received (another) box of glow motors from my dad (after his complete switch to the dark side). This particular box hid a pair of one of OS' finest moments - two 2nd gen OS 40 FPs, ye olde stereotypical learner motor. Easy to start, tune, unfussy about tank height, brilliant throttle response, reliable in the air, very light for their capacity, and although they're far from the most powerful 40 you'll ever find, in terms of power to weight, they seem very difficult to beat. Particularly when you start propping for sensible revs of around 10k or 11k. One of them had a silencer with the OS mute kit (the baffle and extension tube) - Ebay turned up a matching second mute kit. Also kicking around in the donated box was a pair of mounts that just about fitted the FPs, and a single 6oz tank. One extra tank, and they're good to go.