ESC overheating.

I was reading a thread recently where it was suggested that ESCs run hotter at low throttle than they do at high throttle and, therefore, are more likely to fail in the hands of a beginner undergoing training.

Is this another one of those received “myths” or is there, in fact, a technical explanation, preferably (with all due respect to other parties) from an electronics engineer.

I am a retired electrician with limited knowledge of electronics but this is my view on the matter, based on that limited knowledge.

Firstly,

1. All equipment should be fit for purpose and of decent quality.

2. All components i.e. battery, ESC, motor and prop should be correctly matched.

3. All components should be properly and correctly installed.

So, it seems to me that provided all of the above conditions are met there should be no need to worry about the possible failure of an ESC, or anything else, due to maintaining any continuous throttle setting be it low, high or anywhere in between!

Secondly, and I’m happy to be re-educated here, it is my understanding that all electrical circuits generate heat, to a greater or lesser degree, and the materials used are designed accordingly to dissipate it. The primary factor here, being the current although there are others.

It has been suggested, in the “continuous low throttle” case that the ESC is “working harder” at low throttle than high throttle and this is what puzzles me.

An ESC, as I understand it, is a switching device which sends pulses to the motor to control speed. The greater the pulses the greater the speed, the lesser the pulses the lesser the speed. The switching process itself generates heat.

A tiny computer CPU is, similarly, a switch and despite operating on much smaller voltages and currents has to be mounted on a heat sink with thermal paste together with a large fan to cool it!