Planned obsolescence

Allan Bennett

I've been flying my Align TRex 500E for about 14 years.  For a while when I've needed spares I've ended up getting items that are listed for the 500XL or 500PRO or something like that because they're no longer listed for the 500E.  Usually they're a direct replacement -- the same item probably, but with a different part number.  But a recent series of events has led me to the conclusion that after my stock of spares runs out I may have to ditch the 500E and get a more modern variant:

First off the bearings in my BL500M motor failed, but a Google search found no replacement shaft and bearings, and a phone call to Midland Helis determined that the BL500MX shaft was not quite the same size 😒  So I had to get a new BL500MX motor for it.

Then I wanted to put an extra bearing onto my torque tube tail drive shaft to try and eliminate some vibrations that my flight controller is recording.  None in stock in UK (though replacement shafts are available complete with bearings), found some at a French model shop but they ship to anywhere except UK 😒  So some now on the way from USA.

Finally I wanted to fit some longer Align carbon tail blades to get better control with my 4-blade main rotor and low-ish head speed.  Plenty advertised at the usual Align UK dealers, but all out of stock 😒  So some now on the way from China.

Is it just UK vendors who are letting us down, or is Align gradually cutting back on spares for older models?

8 hours ago, Peter Jenkins said:

Cars and boilers are very different from model aircraft though in terms of total numbers manufactured and supported.  You've done well to have parts, albeit, different part numbers, available for 14 years.