Beginner questions about radios

paul devereux

A few very silly questions: why does this radio have two "edit buttons"? (the buttons just to the left of the wheel). They seem to do the same thing, ie scroll through the menu.

Is setting a low rate (when you set dual rates) the same thing as reducing the end point? Is reducing the end points what is meant by reducing the throws?

And do you need the move the Tx controls when you set dual rates? ( I spent some time trying to reduce the end points before realising I had to move the stick on the Tx to select each point.

As can be gathered, I am new to all this. I've searched Google and YouTube but I think these questions are so basic they are never addressed, so I apologise in advance for asking them.

futaba.png

Advert

Your " end points " are important Paul, as the servo can push too far and Stall, damaging the servo and using up more power from your on-board battery.I

Set the travel so as no strain occurs in the push.

2 edit buttons are quite common for setting up either hand

And yes, apply the sticks to see the results as you adjust.

Page 1, basic questions, are vital in all walks of life.

Edited by Denis Watkins
  • Thanks 1

Computer radios are quite complex and in my opinion the best way to learn is from a human mentor who can test for understanding.

If that's not possible Youtube can be both friend and foe however is probably your best option. I've had a quick look and there are plenty of "basic setup" videos however none I've found guide the viewer through the entire setup process, however do deal with the various topics piecemeal. Many will have their favourites however my go-to channels are "painless 360" and "RC video reviews" however don't let that put you off others.

This page deals with quite a few aspects of transmitter setup in the same place.

https://www.modelairplanenews.com/10-radio-setup-secrets/

Half the trouble is understanding the jargon as one doesn't know what one doesn't know.