Flying over private land

Ralph C

I was reading the BMFA guide to "Model Flying and Farmers" from 2013 and it mentions that it is legal to overfly private land (otherwise normal flying would be illegal).

Is this still true? I am thinking with my drone that if this is the case, surely I can just find a public footpath (50m from buildings/people/pylons, 150m from settlements) and take off vertically from that and fly over fields?

Surely I will incur the wrath of a farmer watching this? I can't see how it would end well.

Grateful for any opinions on this.

Thanks.

I am NOT a lawyer, this is based on my understanding, and I'm sure someone will correct/clarify my understanding!

Private land is exactly what it says - land! You don't own the airspace over it, although it is legal to carry out some low altitude leisure activities that might reasonably be expected in that airspace. (This might, at a stretch cover model flying!)

On the other hand, if you are NOT the landowner, you can fly over that land without breaking any CAA regulations, but you could still be construed as "causing a nuisance". And, of course, if you crashed on private land you could be accused of trespass when trying to retrieve it. You would also be liable for any damage caused.

In short, its a good idea to stay on the right side of the land owner, even if its not strictly a legal requirement!

--

Pete

If you have a camera equipped drone It might be good idea to contact the farmer.He could actually appreciate pictures of his crops. I know that some farmers do have a drone for just that purpose.

Many years ago (before drones) when I used to do aerial photography from models I did a couple of jobs like that for local farmers. We got a flying site out of one such job and the other was just done for the pelasure of doing it.