Cheaper Batteries

Looking to buy some 4S batteries, capacity in the 2600-3000 mAh range, with current demand in the 40-60A range.

I have been looking at the cheaper end of the market and typically finding manufacturers that I have no experience with - some examples of what I have been looking at

Overlander 4S 2900mAh 35C

GNB 4S 2800mAh 100C

VANT 4S 2600mAh 50C

Now I take the C rating with a huge pinch of salt - 100C would mean a sustainable discharge current of 280A and I simply don’t believe that the battery, the wiring, the XT60 connector nor any attached electronics could handle that.  But I ignore that because what I need is a C-rating of 23.

But are there any other advantages of having ‘high-C’ batteries.

Then we come to manufacturer, I clearly don’t want a battery that is going to puff up or die within a short time.  I have experience with Overlander so am comfortable with those but they are significantly more expensive than the GNB and VANT so if they are just as good I’d like to save some money, or buy 4 batteries rather than 3.

Edited by Nigel Heather

In theory, the higher the C rating the lower the internal resistance and so the higher the voltage on load. That should give you better performance at whatever load you chose to run. In practice of course, marketing has a lot to do with claimed C ratings. I regularly take up to 200A for short runs from 1500mAh packs, but the wiring etc. survives because the runs are only a couple of seconds.

I am presently using 6s 3000 GNB 100C packs in a large glider and they seem quite happy in the 65 - 70A range for the 25 to 30 second motor runs I am using (I get 3 climbs per flight).

Probably just me, but I have never had a lot of luck with packs from Overlander.

Dick

• Like 2

I have found that 4-Max are the best choice in the long run. They cost more but perform very well and if you have a problem you have professional service from a top UK company.