Where I might fit in.

James Kerr

Hi everyone, a real newbie here.

What I need to ask is, where in this great hobby can a square peg fit in, I'm asking because I feel I might not be the only one who just can't follow exact rules, take orders, only fly on designated days, only fly when a superior is present, only fly if my model meets their approval, I could go on but I'm sure Club members will have come up against much more.

I see many Tube Videos where the flyer is on his own in a field, is that the only alternative? will I have to crash my way to perfection on my own? are there others of the same mind who meet up in small numbers?

JK.

Advert

If you can' fly yet then worrying about rules is a bit premature. You need to learn to fly. All clubs will have some rules so thinking that you could join a club and just go and fly anytime you want straight off is not realistic..

The minimum any club would want is to know that you can fly your model safely without someone standng by you to warn you from making any serious mistakes before they will let you flay any time..

While some clubs are extremely easy going there are others that live by the rules. Visit clubs and and out which they are and how they are run.

Hi James and welcome.

Of necessity, clubs do need a framework of rules to work within and this allows members to enjoy their hobby in a safe and reasonably controlled environment. (clubs often have to follow strict regulations set by a landowner over which they have no say).

This doesn't mean that club members have to line up and be inspected military style before each flying session or have to pass all sorts of tests and 'hoop jumps'. The hobby would be non-existent if that were the case but a degree of very light touch regulation is essential, otherwise the result would be chaos. What is considered a light touch will differ from club to club so the advice to try before you buy is sound.