Does CA have a shelf life??

I have been using Zap for several years without any complaints. However I did notice that as the bottle got older the thin Zap would take longer to set. I would then take this as a hint to open a fresh bottle. I stopped buying the larger 4 oz bottles (though they are more economic) I simply wasted the excess.

So I bought smaller bottles thinking the unoppened bottle would be okay for quite some time.

Anyway the point of my question, the bottle I have been using for about 18 months has become almost useless, and will not set. I opened a new bottle (bought at the same time but unnopened) and it too is useless. I can put some on my finger tips and it fails to stick my fingers to balsa, now that used to be absolutely normal!!

It has been very warm in the workshop, and I did notice someone suggest glues should be kept in a fridge.

So has anybody else come across this?

Cheers

Danny

Edited By Danny Fenton on 14/09/2016 10:19:51

I find cyano gets thicker with time and slower to set. In fact it gradually takes on the characteristics of the thicker, slower types that are sold as such. I confess to buying and using Pound Shop cyano which, at least in my local shop, is fresh in regularly (they are sometimes out of stock). I usually buy a couple of cards of 5x 7gm bottles and keep what I'm not actually using in the fridge and it remains as bought (medium thin) for ages. I think your warm workshop might be the reason yours has gone off. I admit, I have a very tolerant wife who also keeps some of the adhesives she uses for more mundane purposes in there too.

I find the Pound Shop cyano (promoted by Tommy Walsh who I guess must be a TV personality but I've never heard of him) to perform perfectly well and tiny fraction of the price of other manufacturers.

Geoff