Soldering/binding piano wire.

I am a relative newbie. I have found that the soldering of 'Bound' piano wire difficult. I have used different types of wire and flux but still very hit and miss. How do you tin piano wire with 100 % success  , and what's  the best binding wire. (I had thought uncoated copper). Finally whats the best flux, even tried Bakers fluid!!!!.

Thanks in advance Bas

I use Tinned Copper Wire (TCW) and acid-cored solder, combined with meticulous cleaning of the wire to start with, and a 100 watt soldering iron. The cooled job then gets thoroughly scrubbed in hot soapy water to remove the flux residue. 6swg piano wire is a cinch!

Bakers fluid should do the trick if the job is clean and the iron powerful enough.

Tom

I have a strong copper sulphate solution  used for plating . Occasionaly i use a drop as flux on difficult  piano wire . I dont kn9w what causes the occasional pi3ce of piano wire to be hard to soft solder but the copper sulphate usually does the trick. Piano wire is not the quality it once was and prossinly containly all dorts of junk and 8s just sold as piano wire. 

I certainly endorse Tom Gaskin's comment about rigorous cleaning to ensure a good solder joint. For the heavier gauge wire I often use silver solder, flux and a gas torch to make a really strong 'bind'. Again cleaning the materials is absolutely paramount for success.

Good luck Basil, try a few practice joints too before attempting the real thing?

SW