RC Aircraft Trainer - Foam and Kit

Greg

As a beginner to RC flying I am interested to find out some information about trainer aircraft. When I recently joined this forum I was interested in finding what would be the best powered glider kit to buy for the beginner. Many of you have provided me with a lot of information about what to purchase to get started. Which I was very grateful for and I am now actively  purchasing my first glider.

But having caught the bug I would also be interested in recommendations for the future in what members would consider good trainers for example the Cessna or similar in both foam aircraft (so I can break it and not cry) that has a stabilization gyro fitted and suitable trainer kits to build. Building skills are not an issue as I have extensive experience in building wooden model boats and ships

It would be great to here from members what they would recommend. 

Thanks.

Build a balsa model - they can be repaired if damaged - consider building a Super 60 from plan on Outerzone, or a Wot Trainer kit from Chriss Foss.   Any scale model will take much more time to construct than a proper trainer.

Make sure you buy a copy of the latest -February- RCME due out this week with a free plan for an electric Ofourniner which is simple in construction with minimal material.   Easy first balsa build and there will be lots of advice online as this will be a popular design I reckon.   A modern electric version of an older design for small glow engine.  

• Like 1

Like Andy said, the UNO Wot is a marvellous trainer and can be electrified very successfully. Nice easy build too.

If, given your current experience with boat building, you'd be happier will a fully built up trainer there was an excellent article in RCM&E March 2021 on the DB Mascot trainer, with an electric conversion - a proper traditional 59" span trainer, eminently suitable for the traditional entry to the hobby, especially if you will be learning with an instructor.