switching of main lipo battery

Basil

Hi, I am a novice, hence this question. I have a plane that is an IC to electric convertion. The only way to gain access to the Lipo power sauce once ready for or finished flying is to take off the wings, via elastic bands , and eveyrthing that this entails.

Is there a simple way to provide a way of turning the main lipo supply on/off..

An ordinary in line switch would require something quite heavy to cope with the amps involved. A gadget that requires an inserted plug/key from the outside seems most feasable, but I cant find one, as yet.

Has any body have any suggestions. I dont want to go down the road of seperate lv swiotch for the RX, because of the added wieght of say 4xcells, and the problems this would cause, in this case, with the CG etc.

I look forward to your replies, as it is obviously a simple answer.!!!!!

Barry

Advert

Several ways to do this

I cut a small hatch on top to enable the Lipo to be plugged into the ESC

2. Study this conversion of the WOT4 to see if it can be applied to your model. This is a hatch underneath with the Lipo strapped to a ply plate which is inserted and then held with a wing bolt etc.

3 Cut a hatch in the top of the model to change the Lipo and also connect up when ready to fly.

Edited By kc on 09/09/2020 15:33:59

I think it's safe to say that virtually nobody uses a switch in the Lipo to ESC connection.   Everybody that I know plugs in the Lipo to ESC through the XT60 or similar plugs.   ( many Lipos come with XT60 plugs already soldered on which is handy. )     Some people use a 'shorting plug' instead of a switch.   This is usually on the outside of the model.

Edited By kc on 09/09/2020 15:31:08

Edited By kc on 09/09/2020 15:35:52

Phil,

If £15 buys a component which can switch hundreds of amps, can be controlled from a simple small low current switch and presumably is small and light enough for a model, then it begs two obvious questions to me: