Anyone else notice it's windy?

paul devereux

I'm usually up at about 4 - 5am. Normally, I'd been able to get some flying in just after dawn, as the sun is rising above the horizon- the air is normally flat calm then and as a beginner I can practise without having to factor in the wind. But for the last two weeks (and for the next two weeks according to the forecast) it has been windy enough to bend the tops of even mature trees all day and all night. I'm on the South Coast.

So I can't fly. Do more experienced pilots manage to fly in this weather? Should I be learning to fly in windy conditions? Is this weather even normal?

Yes, breezy here on NE coast as well.

I'll fly up to about 20 mph but have to choose the right model for wind speed and direction.

I'd say that in order to maximise your flying time, you will need to learn how to fly in the wind. Initially get your instructor involved, then practice on your own. Note the bold, italic, words above.

• Like 1

A recently signed off newbie here and not yet has a day in Wiltshire been unflyable, the words in bold above sum it up perfectly.

On days when lighter weight models have found the wind too strong a 40 sized trainer, Boomerang in my case, has performed admirably.👍

Edited by PDB

In the nineties and early noughties we used to get marvellous calm evenings when it was perfect to fly until it got dark. I can't remember the last time I saw one of those. It's usually calm early on before the sun gets up but it's quite rare to stay calm for a large part of the day, the wind is generally getting lively by late morning, round these parts. Probably all part of climate charge, with more energy in the atmosphere.